Moment Of Kindness

Moment Of Kindness

This happened oh maybe about a month ago. I was practically broke, well I had $23. I was in Wal-Mart picking up some things for my little dog, and mis-calculated the total. The cashier said $31.64 I thought I would swallow my tongue. That was $9 more than I had, and it wasn’t all things for my dog, I also had some foodstuff. I didn’t want to hold up the line even though there was only one person behind me, a man. So I apologized and told the cashier how much I had and asked if she could deduct items until the amount coincided. She was very helpful, he was very patient. Then the most amazing thing happened, he, who had been looking at one of the magazines that are at the end of all registers, put the book down and said, “excuse me, I don’t mean to meddle, but are you having to put things back?” I said, “yes, but it’s ok. He said, no don’t worry, I got this and he asked the cashier if she remembered how many times he had been in the same predicament, she laughed and said no I lost count. He then told her to add the rest of my items to his order. I have never had such kindness bestowed upon me. I thanked him and had tears in my eyes. It was a most touching moment.

2 thoughts on “Moment Of Kindness

  1. Pingback: A Thief No More (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

Leave a Reply

