Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror

Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror.

when I look in the mirror I see a cliche’ image of the little girl I use to be. I am the seventh child of (5) sisters and (1) brother. They are all much older than me so I had a pretty lonely childhood. I was practically invisible, none of them played with me or tolerated me very much. They all had their own little partnership clic, my eldest and sister under her were best friends, the next two were loners and didn’t like each other. Yet neither liked me. I was pushed aside, neglected, and ignored. So I made my own friends, not imaginary, but grass, my early years I was raised in North Carolina and their is a kind of grass that grows there called blade grass. It is fun to play with (no I didn’t go crazy from my loneliness)lol. I use to call this grass braid grass, because you can actually braid it as you would your own hair. So in my yard you would see about a hundred braided puffs of grass with whatever I could find to tie around it and call it a ribbon. My next best friends were sticks, I would find the weirdest shaped sticks and make people out of them, I even stole scissors and different articles of clothing and dressed them up. Their names were Molly Stick Up, Tommy Tomato Head, Paula Pickle Feet, And Annie Acorn. I spent hours in a day playing with my friends and unless I went inside and said I was hungry, it was as if I didn’t exist because no one cared.
Then the best thing happened, my next to the oldest sister got married and moved to New York. She took me with her, and raised me with her family. I finally became someone and wasn’t invisible anymore. My life had meaning, everything became beautiful for me after that. I even made friends that wasn’t grass or sticks. Then one day my sister sat me down and explained the things leading to my childhood loneliness and it suddenly all made sense. It’s a family secret that I’m not ready to share. Yet after that I felt a joy inside and a happiness that helped me put it all behind and go on to have a fun life. So When I Look In The Mirror I may see the little girl I use to be, but the woman I am shines through.

Leave a comment